Kyoto Protocol

The Kyoto Protocol is considered a milestone in international climate policy. It was adopted at the third Conference of the Parties (COP3) to the Framework Convention on Climate Change in Kyoto in 1997. The Kyoto Protocol was the first agreement to include binding commitments for developed countries to limit and reduce emissions. To date, 191 countries have ratified the Protocol, including all EU member states and key emerging economies such as Brazil, China, India and South Africa. The US has still not ratified the Kyoto Protocol. Canada withdrew in 2013.


Last update: 26.05.2017